Article 371 Approved


Article 371 Approved HK Region Gulbarga

                           The Gulbarga region ignited in joy on Saturday after the Cabinet Committee on Political Affairs (CCPA) gave its nod to the proposed amendment to Article 371 of the Constitution, which would provide special status to the Hyderabad Karnataka region(Gulbarga, Yadgir, Bidar, Bijapur, Koppal and Bellary).

The regional tag for the six districts of Gulbarga, Yadgir, Bidar, Bijapur, Koppal and Bellary after a long wait of 40 years, is expected to incorporate the Telangana, Marathwada, Saurashtra and Vidarbha models. These are already under Article 371.

Various organisations that were in the forefront of the agitation demanding the amendment, burst firecrackers here on Saturday to express their happiness.

Members of the Hyderabad Karnatakada Pradeshada Hortagala Samanvaya Samiti, a federation of different organisations, led by its president Laxman Dasti, president of the Jai Karnataka Rakshana Vedike Arunkumar Patil, president of Jai Karnataka Veeranna Koralli, and president of Jana Jagruthi Vedike Devendra Sattar held separate celebrations in the city.

The organisations thanked Union Minister M. Mallikarjun Kharge in particular, for the amendment.

“This is a victory for the people of Karnataka, particularly the Hyderabad Karnataka region,” Mr. Dasti said. “If this had not happened now, future generations would not have pardoned us…we thank Mr. Kharge and the former Chief Minister N. Dharam Singh for achieving the impossible,” said the former Minister Qamarul Islam, MLA. Members of various pro-Kannada organisations and of the Kannada Sahitya Parishat also joined the celebrations in the city.

There were celebrations at all taluk headquarters, with people coming out on the streets and bursting firecrackers and distributing sweets. There were reports of celebrations in Yadgir, Bidar, Raichur and Koppal districts also.

The one person who was missed in the celebrations was the former Minister Vaijnath Patil, who is also president of the Hyderabad Karnataka Horata Samiti, which spearheaded the agitation demanding the amendment.

Related Posts: